Thick French Toast

I apologize in advance for the lack of pictures on this post, so I’ll try to explain things as best as I can.  When I was making this, I think my wife was at the gym and I was home with our boys – so it probably was a little hectic. Of course, if you have any questions, just let me know and I’ll be happy to answer them.

First, I preheated the oven to 350 degrees. Then I started cutting some bananas and strawberries as pictured below.  Once done, I put them in a plastic Ziploc bag and added a couple teaspoons of powered sugar (no picture). I then placed the bag in the refrigerator to cool.  In my mind, I was thinking it would be nice to have the French toast really warm and have some chilled fruit on top.  I suppose if you don’t want the fruit to be chilled or cold, then don’t put in the refrigerator.  That’s the only reason I put the bag in there.

Next, I cut the bread in to thick slices.

In a medium size mixing bowel (sorry, no picture) I added 8 eggs, 1/4 cup of milk and a teaspoon of cinnamon. I whisked everything together really well and this is the mixture I used to coat the bread.  I put in one slice of bread at a time and let it soak for like a minute and then turned it over and let it soak again for another minute.  I wanted the bread to absorb as much as possible before cooking on the stove top.

Next I heated up a pan on the stove top at medium-high heat and then melted some butter once the pan was hot.  I was pretty liberal with the butter but you can be as healthy (or as unhealthy) as you want here.  I cooked each side until it looked something like what is pictured below:

As I was done with the bread, I placed it in a 9×13 baking pan.  Once I had 4 (that’s all that would fit in the pan anyway), I let them bake in the oven for about 10 minutes.  When they were done, I immediately served with room temperature syrup, the chilled fruit, and more powered sugar on top.  Mine looked like this:

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: breakfast

CONNECT

Find me online.

4 Comments on “Thick French Toast”

  1. February 4, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    Your photos are gorgeous.

  2. Paul
    March 18, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    Looks delicious

Leave a Reply

