Steak Tacos Redux w/ Red Chile Paste

I love Mexican and Tex-Mex styled dishes. I also love peppers.  So, at our house, many of our meals fall into one of these categories and sometimes both at the same time.  For me, this particular dish is awesome because it incorporates a couple of my favorite things.  As you probably know, I’ve blogged about steak tacos before (http://eatdrinkandbemanly.com/2012/11/01/steak-tacos/) with a majority of the focus on how I cook the meat on the stovetop.  So, I don’t want to rehash all of that here with this post.  You can read all about it from the other post, if you want.  This time, I wanted to put more emphasis on the chile paste – so I hope you don’t mind.

First, to make the paste, I picked up a variety of dried peppers from the store.  Of course, you can use all kinds of different dried peppers but I wanted some peppers that incorporated some sweetness, bitterness, smokiness, and also some heat.  I chose Guagillos chiles, Ancho chiles (dried poblanos), and Arbol chiles.  They are pictured below in that order and you can click on each one for a larger view:

Next, I removed the stems and put all of the peppers in the food processor (seeds too).  I kept it running for quite a while because I really wanted to get the peppers as fine as possible.  I added 4 gloves of fresh garlic and 1.5 tomatoes. I kept running the food processor until it had the consistency of a paste.  I actually added half of a tomato at a time so that I could ensure that it wouldn’t get too runny and turn into a salsa.  When it was done, I stirred in a little salt (to taste) and it looked like this:

After the paste was made, I cooked up my flank steak on the stovetop:

Finally, I built my tacos.  I usually keep things pretty simple when it comes to toppings.  Pictured below, I used only the red chile paste, fresh cilantro and some hand grated white cheddar:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: cooking

CONNECT

Find me online.

5 Comments on “Steak Tacos Redux w/ Red Chile Paste”

  1. February 1, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    This looks like a really good recipe. I’m definitely going to make the chili paste.

    • February 4, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

      Let me know how it goes or if you have any questions. Good luck!

  2. February 2, 2013 at 1:07 am #

    Your tacos looks absolutely amazing, if you are looking for a great beer to pair with these tacos then follow my blog

  3. February 4, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    I’m hungry!

Leave a Reply

