Crostini w/ Tomato, Basil + Fresh Mozzarella

I wasn’t sure what to call these, so if anyone knows the correct name, please let me know.  Despite the lack of a solid name, these are really easy to make and they taste delicious.  On nights where we want a light dinner, these are perfect.  They also make great appetizers too since they are on bread and easy to eat with one hand.

First, I preheated the oven to 350 and put about 1 cup of olive on the stovetop (on low heat) and added a few cloves of garlic to the pan.  I just left it like that and didn’t touch it again until I needed it later.  The idea is to get the olive oil to absorb the flavors from the garlic.

With the oven warming up and the olive oil on the stove, I started putting everything together.  I sliced the bread into thin pieces.  If the slices are too thick, it becomes harder to eat and bite though.  However, if they are too thin, then they are flimsy.  So keep that in mind as you slice your bread. I put all the bread in a 9×13 pan as I sliced it.

You don’t need many other ingredients to pull these off, but (ideally) you should have some fresh basil, fresh mozzarella, and tomatoes.

I cut the mozzarella into half inch slices and then I halved them so that they’d fit on the bread.  I did the same with the tomatoes too.  Basically, I just tried to make sure I cut them so that they were spilling over the sides of the bread.  I wanted to keep everything mostly contained on the bread.  Next, I took a ladle and poured some olive oil (from the stovetop) over the bread.

Next, I added the cheese to the top of the bread and then the tomatoes on top of that.  I put it in the oven for approximately 10 minutes – just long enough to soften the tomatoes, and melt the cheese.  Once out of the oven, I added the basil to the top to complete the dish. Basil doesn’t react very well to heat.  If you put the basil in the oven, it will most likely change colors slightly.  It doesn’t alter the taste that much, but I like when the basil has a bright green color… instead of a wilted brown-ish color.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: appetizers, cooking

CONNECT

Find me online.

2 Comments on “Crostini w/ Tomato, Basil + Fresh Mozzarella”

  1. February 1, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    Great blog!!! I would call these Caprese Crostini, nothing beats melty mozzarella and fresh basil.

Leave a Reply

