Inside Out Burgers

Inside out burgers are a great way to safeguard a lot your essential flavors and juices by securing the “inside” ingredients between two hamburger patties.  The idea is try to sear the outside patties together and essentially prevent the flavors from escaping.  They really aren’t that complicated and you can easily add some of your favorite ingredients in the middle.  Experiment.

Since this was my first attempt at these, I kept it simple and only used cheddar cheese, jalapenos, and bacon.  Next time, I think I’ll load them up a bit more.

 

I prepped all of my ingredient first and made my patties.  Then I built the burger making sure to leave room to press the outside of the two patties together.  If you don’t leave enough room you’ll struggle keeping everything inside and it will be a mess as you’re cooking.

 

Next, I pressed the second pattie on the top of the first and made sure to really press the outside of the two patties together to create a good seal.  I then seasoned them as I would a normal burger.  After that, I coated the outside with flour as pictured below.

 

I cooked mine on the stove in corn oil with the burner (gas) as hot as I could get it.  I only used enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan.  As I was cooking them, I made a point to only flip them once.  I didnt want to run the risk of the patties seperating by flipping them too often.  I also used a lid to help cook the top pattie by keeping the heat inside the pan.  My finished burgers looked like this:

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: cooking, grilling

CONNECT

Find me online.

2 Comments on “Inside Out Burgers”

  1. February 1, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    Ahhhh, the Juicy Lucy, always is a tasty little burger to cook up.

  2. February 5, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    I’m not a big burger fan, but these look absolutely amazing.

Leave a Reply

