Guacamole

I love avocados.  Whether on burgers, grilled cheese sandwiches, or just eating them plain…they rock.  My recipe for guacamole is really simple.  Actually most things that I cook are generally simple.  My goal is to bring out the essential flavors of a dish without masking anything or over seasoning.  In my opinion, if you are going to eat guacamole you should taste mostly avocados with a few other ingredients that enhance and compliment the avocados.  Anyway, it’s really straightforward and I’ve included a few tips that I’ve found to be helpful.

I typically only use avocados, cilantro, tomatoes, salt, onion powder, and freshly squeezed lemon juice.  Everything is done to taste.  So I cannot tell you how much salt or onion powder to use.  It varies every time.  Just experiment and taste as you go (besides, that’s more fun).  I also do not use fresh onions because I hate biting in to onions. I can cook with them but do not like them fresh (sorry).

First, I cut my avocados like this because I’ve found it to be an easy (and generally less messy) way of getting as much of the avocados as possible.  There are some really good flavors right at the edge by the skin.  So, however you do it, try to get as close to the skin as possible.

This is what mine look like when I “peel” out the avocado slice from the skin. Sometimes I’ll use a fork and scrape off even more from the peel.  It just depends.

I then combine the avocados and cilantro in a bowl so that it can be smashed up.  You can extract some good flavors from the cilantro by adding the cilantro at this step in the process. Also, if your avocados are too hard to smash with a fork, use a sharp knife and cut them up in the bowl as you are smashing them.  Also I leave some chunks too.

Once the avocados are smashed up to my liking, I add some chopped tomatoes, onion powder, salt, and fresh lemon juice (use a real lemon).

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: appetizers

CONNECT

Find me online.

4 Comments on “Guacamole”

  1. November 1, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    I love guacamole too. I agree that biting into raw onion isn’t very tasty. I just add a little bit and chop it into very fine little pieces. I also add lime because I like my guac with lots of citrus. I highly recommend using some of that guac for a guacamole bacon grilled cheese!

    • November 1, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

      I’ve gone back and forth between lime and lemon. I agree completely that the citrus burst gives it a lot of character (regardless of which one you choose). Thx!

      • November 1, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

        I actually add lemon and lime! Try it.

      • November 1, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

        I will make sure to try that the next time we do this. Thx!

Leave a Reply

