Pork Tacos

Pork tacos are great…but not just because they taste amazing, which they do.  They’re great because they taste awesome AND their really easy to make.  The majority of the “time” involved in this dish is letting your meat cook in the slow cooker.  Typically I let my pork shoulder cook for about 12-14 hours and the final product is usually meat that is literally falling off the bone and delicious.

Personally, I think the key to taking your pork tacos from good to great is spending the time to brine your meat and cook it with some tasty, homemade salsa.  I typically use a Boston butt or shoulder.  If you can find it with the bone-in that’s best, but if you can only find one with the string netting (as pictured) that will work fine too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I usually brine my piece of meat for about 12 to 24 hours before I put it in the slow cooker.  To do this, I put my meat in a big plastic bag and then add water, salt, pepper, ancho chill powder, pepper.  Typically for every gallon of water you use, you can use 1 cup of salt.  There is no exact science to brining – so feel free to experiment with different things.  Once everything is in the bag, seal it and then place it in the refrigerator.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When you’re ready, put your meat in the slow cooker with 1 cup of the brine water and your homemade salsa.  Cook it on low for about 12-14 hours.  Here you can see how I make my homemade salsa: http://eatdrinkandbemanly.com/2012/09/19/homemade-salsa/ and below is a picture of what it usually looks like.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Below is how everything looks once in the slow cooker.  I typically keep the salsa on top of the meat so that it can better fall in to the meat as it cooks.  I also add some tomato, lime, cilantro, etc.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When it’s close to being done, you should prepare all of your condiments and things that you like to put on your tacos.  We typically don’t use that much – just lettuce, tomato, cilantro, and cheese. We also typically fry up corn tortillas instead of using flour.  You should/could do that at this time too since frying tortillas can take a while if you have a lot to do.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Below is what my pork looked like after I removed it from the slow cooker:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The tacos:

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: cooking

CONNECT

Find me online.

9 Comments on “Pork Tacos”

  1. October 12, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    Those tacos look great! I am trying to use my slow cooker more often, this is a great idea.

    • eatdrinkandbemanly
      October 12, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

      Thanks! They always turn out really well and let me know how yours turn out next when you try them. I’m sure they’ll be awesome.

  2. October 16, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    We have to make this now!! Do you have a post for frying corn tortillas? Or a link with good instructions?

    • eatdrinkandbemanly
      October 16, 2012 at 9:17 am #

      I have a particular way that I do it and I’ll post it on here in a comment shortly. I keep meaning to do a whole post on frying corn tortillas but I keep forgetting – sorry about that 🙂 but you’ll want to fry them for sure. they taste waaaay better.

      • Declan and Erica
        October 16, 2012 at 9:22 am #

        We love fried corn tortillas but haven’t mastered the frying technique yet. Until then we will rely on the taco stand by our apartment!

  3. October 17, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    This is a great recipe!

    • October 18, 2012 at 11:24 am #

      Thanks. Pork tacos are one of my absolute favorite dishes 🙂

  4. February 1, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    These look delicious!

Leave a Reply

