Steak Fajitas

I’ve found that many of my favorite dishes don’t require fancy culinary skills or complex, complicated directions. For me, the key to perfecting these dishes consists of using fresh vegetables, choice cuts of meat, and just not screwing up the basics. Fajitas are not particularly difficult to make… but they can quickly go from awesome to average.  Here’s how I keep them awesome:

First, I load up on fresh peppers, onions, limes and cilantro.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For my peppers, I cut the ends off and then I cut out the insides.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I chop them up like this. This is just my personal preference and it’s quick and it’s easy.  I’ve seen them chopped up so many different ways.  There’s no right or wrong way to do it – so experiment with what works for you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once my peppers and onions are chopped up, I cook them in oil olive (about 1/8th of a cup) over medium heat on the stovetop and covered.  I add salt and pepper at this time too.  I start with a relatively small amount and then work my way up.  I taste as I go and I season with salt and pepper until it tastes right.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While my peppers are cooking I prep my meat with a rub.  Part of the key to great fajitas is spending a few extra pesos on a nice piece of flank steak. The one pictured cost about $20 and it’s well worth it. If you settle for a cheaper piece of meat you will most likely discover that you meat is chewy or not the consistency that you’re expecting for fajitas.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First I dry my meat off with a paper towel. Then I spread a light coat of olive oil on it. For my rub I use cayenne pepper, chipotle pepper seasoning, and black pepper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I normally turn my peppers and onions to low heat at this point.  Next, I cook the flank steak.  This is the trickiest part and it’s hard to explain exactly how to properly cook your steak.  Perfecting cooking steak on the stove top takes a lot of practice.  I normally heat up the pan with some corn oil and get it as hot as it will go.  Then I add the meat and leave it uncovered.  I let the one side cook until there is a nice char on it.  Once I have the char on one side then I turn the heat down slightly and flip the meat.  After I flip it, I just check the meat by feel.  I have a post about checking meat by touch.  Read that before being tempted to cut into it or poke it with a meat thermometer.  Once it’s done (subjective), let it rest for about 10 minutes before cutting in to it.   Here is what it should look like if your meat cooked medium rare:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By now, my peppers and onions are nice and soft and everything should be just about ready.  I warm up my tortillas, cut up some cilantro and build the fajitas.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: cooking

CONNECT

Find me online.

2 Comments on “Steak Fajitas”

  1. Dee
    October 6, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    I’ve always been leery of cooking steak. Your tips are really helpful though. Thanks.

  2. October 9, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    no problem! I agree – the prospect of ruining an expensive piece of steak can be scary but it’s always good to err on the side of undercooking. You can always “fix” that…but you can’t fixed overcooked. Let me know if you have any questions that I can help you with.

Leave a Reply

