Breakfast Burgers

For me, getting creative in the kitchen usually means looking through the refrigerator for lots of leftovers and then trying to find a way to combine everything into a dish that is mostly coherent, edible, and manly.  As I was looking in our fridge this morning I noticed that we had a ½ pound of sausage in a tube, cilantro (pork tacos the night before), eggs, bacon (cooked a couple of days ago), Virginia ham (for sandwiches), cheese, and some hamburger buns that were starting to get a little hard.  So that’s the list of what you’d need to make this delicious, manly breakfast sandwich:

I started by making the sausage into patties that resembled something like hamburger patties.  I then cooked them on medium heat on the stove top.  Try not to flip them until the one side has seared on the outside.  Then do the same thing with the other side.  You really only need to flip them once, so don’t get flip crazy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I poured the sausage grease into a cup and washed out the pan.  Return it to medium heat and put a couple teaspoons of that yummy grease back into the pan.  Next cook your eggs however you like them.  I added the leftover cilantro to mine and I cooked them “over medium” with no flip.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I started toasting the bread in the toaster oven.  While that was going on, I heated up the bacon and ham in the same pan from the sausage and eggs.  Once the bread is toasted you can start building your sandwich.  Top if off with some cheese and you’ll be set.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: breakfast, cooking

CONNECT

Find me online.

12 Comments on “Breakfast Burgers”

  1. Alz355
    October 2, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    Damn! That looks good! But I better double my Crestsor prescription!

    • October 9, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

      or just eat half of the sandwich…that’s what i did 🙂 and i still felt full for like the whole entire day.

  2. October 2, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    Oh…that looks like the best breakfast sandwich ever created. I may not be a man, but I sure do like to eat like one 🙂

    • October 9, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      no problem! I’m glad you like the ideas on here. Maybe one day one of them will go viral likes yours… 😛

      • lindsayballen
        October 10, 2012 at 9:18 am #

        haha I hope so! These recipes deserve to be seen by many! Do you put them on pinterest? That’s where almost all of my views come from.

    • October 10, 2012 at 9:26 am #

      I did recently setup my pinterest account (last week). So I’m assuming that I just need to get some more followers and build up that base before my blog will start seeing more traffic from pinterest. Right now most of my traffic is from FB and twitter.

  3. October 2, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    Man that looks good! Thanks for the follow – that’s how I came across your blog, and I love the name!! I literally lol-ed. Yum. I’m hungry now.

    • October 9, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

      All the credit for the name goes to my wife. She’s awesome and came up with it. I love it as well.

      • tokyohamster
        October 9, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

        oo send my kudos to her too then!

  4. October 25, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    I will break my diet for this!

  5. November 3, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Wow, that’s an amazing sandwich. Love the feel/personality of your blog, and the food looks SO good. Thanks for the follow!

Leave a Reply

