Manly Grilled Cheese

Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with a regular old grilled cheese sandwich (ROGCS).  On a chilly fall day, only a few things are better than a classic ROGCS with hot bowl of tomato soup.  But let’s be honest…it can be (at times) a little plain and boring.  And what happens if you don’t want tomato soup with it?  Is a manly man going to eat a ROGCS as is?  I think not.  Here’s what I did last night to spice it up a little.  Special thanks to my wife for giving me the idea.

Ingredients:

Mozzarella cheese
Cheddar cheese
Butter
Pepperoni
Avocado
Bread

 

Preparation:

First set your toaster oven to broil. If you don’t have a toaster oven you can always use your regular oven too. Either way, get it preheating. Build your sandwiches so that they are open – DON’T close them because you need to add avocado to them later.  If you close them and cook them like a classic ROGCS then you won’t be able to add avocado very easily.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Melt some butter (maybe about a tsp.) in a pan on the stove on medium heat.  Once the butter is melted, toast the bread in the pan.  The butter helps give you a nice toasted outside to the bread. My pan was big enough to toast two slices of bread at a time (remember not to close them). Transfer the toasted bread in the oven so that the cheese can finish melting.  Leave them in as long as you want but you probably don’t need them in there more than a couple of minutes unless you want to cook your cheese.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Remove from the oven, add sliced avocados, and close the sandwich.  I thought it paired really well with a Blue Moon.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: cooking

CONNECT

Find me online.

13 Comments on “Manly Grilled Cheese”

  1. B
    September 25, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    Not bad, but if you’re gonna call it “manly” I expect no less then 6 pieces of bacon, AND a slab of ham. 🙂 Personally what I do for my fancy grilled cheese is throw a little garlic on the toast and pre fry an egg and bacon and put that inside with all the cheeses. Another good way to go breakst or early lunch. I’ll have to try this sometime tho, sounds good.

    • September 25, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

      @brian new post up featuring some bacon. just for you! 😉

      • bryan
        October 6, 2012 at 8:54 am #

        What can I say, I love bacon. Got to try the breakfast burgers soon. Look amazing!

      • October 6, 2012 at 8:58 am #

        They were pretty legit. I think you will like them. Out to breakfast now actually to consume more bacon.

  2. September 25, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    Dude, I hear ya. However, I just used bacon on my jalapeno poppers and I didnt want to over due it with the bacon! But I totally agree with you and will have to try it with the garlic too – that sounds legit.

  3. September 25, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    Haha, this is a good recipe, although I think avocado is too mushy to be manly!

    I like your blog, I like your style!

    Do you have any good kitchen disaster stories? If so, maybe you’d be interested in submitting a guest piece for my magazine? We do stuff across many topics, but I’m really wanting to expand out Kitchen @#$%-ups section.

    Here’s what we’ve done so far, if you’d like to take a look.

    Best,
    –Matt

  4. September 25, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    hey there – thanks for the follow!

    as for the grilled cheese – i loooooovvveeee bacon and tomato on my grilled cheese.
    I wouldn’t think to put avocado on a grilled cheese, but i bet it’s really good! I’ll have to give it a try sometime 🙂

    • September 25, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

      that sounds great. there is also a restaurant around here and puts asparagous on their’s. i think I’ll tackle that next and possibly include the bacon as well from your suggestion. Thx!

  5. September 25, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    To close or not to close…that is the question. I love avocado, but I like my grill done on both sides. Thoughts?

    • September 25, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

      When you say that you grill both sides do you ultimately mean that you grill both sides of one piece of bread? I’ve never made grilled cheese doing that but I could see how that would give you some extra crunch and will have to try that. I normally had always just built the sandwich, closed it, and then grilled “both” sides (essentially one side per piece of bread). Let me know 🙂

      • September 26, 2012 at 5:20 am #

        I do it your way! Sorry for the confusion…but I felt like I wouldn’t press it or close and then grill with guac inside!

  6. September 26, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    I made a bacon and guacamole grilled cheese and which was so good. It was a perfect way to eat up leftover guac.

  7. October 30, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    Yum!

Leave a Reply

