Steaks On The Grill

All manly men should know how to properly cook a steak on the grill. When I first started grilling I would fire up the grill, grab a beer, and watch my meat cook…mostly hoping for the best. After a ruining a couple of expensive steaks I came to realize that there are some key steps in the process that should never be overlooked or skipped. Below is the process I use:

Quality meat:

You will want to find a piece of meat that is USDA, grain fed, aged beef with superior marbling. You probably wont have the best luck if you’re only looking at your local grocery store. Start to look for quality meats at a local meat store / butcher. They will typically have the best selections.

Thicker is better:

Typically 1″ to 1.5″ steaks will cook better on the grill. All steaks should be seared on the outside. However, with thinner cuts you risk cooking the steaks completely through while you are searing the meat.

 

 

 

 

Oil your rack:

Oiling your grill rack well help ensure that your meat doesnt stick or tear. I usually clean my grill once it’s hot then I wipe the grate down with some vegetable oil just before I start cooking.

Preheat your grill:

You’ll want to try to get the temperature of your grill somewhere between 600 and 800 degrees. Once it’s as high as 600 degrees, leave it there for about 15 – 20 minutes (or as long as you can) before putting on your steaks. During the first few minutes of cooking your steaks will sear nicely and all the juices will remain locked inside.

Seasoning suggestions:

Salt your steaks only after you’ve removed them from the grill. Other seasonings are typically fine but experts say that salting your steaks prior to placing on the grill can actually extract and drain juices from the meat while it’s cooking.

No forks allowed:

Hopefully this is obvious if you’ve made it this far, but do not poke holes in your meat after you’ve created a nice sear on the outside. Some people flip their meat with forks but this also will drain the meat of essential juices and flavor. Invest in some tongs.

The thumb check:

Have you noticed on T.V. cooking shows how the professionals test when meat is done? Chefs don’t use a thermometer: It’s all in the touch. It takes some practice (and I’m no expert either) but here’s what they do:

  • For a rare steak: Squeeze the pad at the base of your thumb with your index finger. It should feel spongy and offer very little resistance.  That’s what a rare steak will feel like.
  • For a medium steak:With your index finger, press on the middle of the palm of your outstretched hand. It should feel firm and snap back quickly.  That’s what a medium steak will feel like.
  • For a well-done steak: Squeeze the base of your palm, right beneath your small finger. It should feel very firm, with almost no give. That’s what well-done steak feels like. However, advise your friends against cooking beyond medium. It’s gross and it dries out the meat, robbing it of its flavor and tenderness. If someone is accustomed to well-done meat, ask him to try it medium. You can always put it back on the grill if he isn’t satisfied.

Remember that food continues to cook for a minute or two when it is taken off the heat source, so you don’t need to give it “an extra minute.”

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: grilling

CONNECT

Find me online.

11 Comments on “Steaks On The Grill”

  1. September 21, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    Declan has found a new favorite blog!

    By the way, you take some really great photos! Why not display them bigger in the posts?!

  2. September 21, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    @declan Since I’m just starting out (and I’ve never ran a blog before) I wasnt sure the best approach. I’ve noticed alot of blogs that do exactly as you’ve mentioned so I may need to rethink my approach. I’m sure my blog will evolve as it goes but I really appreciate the feedback. Thanks!

    • September 25, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

      I’ve recently tried to incorporate larger pictures in the posts. How does it look? Always appreciate the feedback – so thanks for commenting and letting me know! 🙂

  3. September 22, 2012 at 3:42 am #

    This is very funny – for a chick who cooks big, I have been very lame about firing up the grill…because I’ve always considered it the man’s job! Perhaps I will have to become more manly….

  4. September 24, 2012 at 12:32 am #

    Your blog is great – the perfect tips for when we fire up our Airstream BBQ!

    I’ll will direct my better half to check out your awesome website.

    Cheers Sonia

    • September 25, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

      Thanks Sonia! Best of luck with your Airstream – looks like a great project.

  5. Jina @ Soy and Ginger
    September 24, 2012 at 2:16 am #

    Love the idea of your blog! I’ve told my boyfriend about it as well, I think he’ll really like it 😀
    I agree with Erica on the photo thing…. but keep up the great work!

    • September 25, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

      I’ve tried to incorporate larger pictures in the posts. What do you think? Better? Worse? Let me know if you could… 🙂

      • Jina @ Soy and Ginger
        September 26, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

        Definitely better, I think! Looks good : )

      • September 26, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

        Awesome! Thanks

  6. September 27, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Thanks for visiting me over here at SavvySingleSuppers, eatdrinkandbemanly! Let me know if you try the Pesto Pork Chops. Appreciate all comments. Good luck with yours. I’ll be watching.

Leave a Reply

