Grilled Teriyaki Kabobs

Kabobs on the grill is one of our favorite grilling choices during the summer.  There are lots of things that are awesome for cooking on the grill lots of those same things usually aren’t practical for eating outside – which sucks.  A lot of grill meals require condiments, silverware, buns, etc… but kabobs are pretty simple, which doesn’t suck.  We typically prep everything inside with the goal of not going back inside until after we’ve eaten.  Here’s the process:

First, fire up your grill.  Then you need to decide what veggies you want to use.  Typical choices for kabobs are peppers, steak, chicken, cherry tomatoes, onions, mushrooms, zucchini, squash, or anything else you think would be awesome. Experiment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cut up all of your veggies and place them in a bowl.  I try to cut things up porportionately so that certain things dont look disporportionate when next to other things.

 

Next, cut up your meat in cubes. For beef I’ve found that pre-cut fondue meat works really well and it’s very tender. For chicken, it doesnt really matter.  Boneless skinless chicken breast is the easiest to work with in my opinion. Use your best judgment on size and shape. Nothing has to be perfect. I usually err on the side of cutting things too big as opposed to too small but that’s just how I roll. I also like to marinate my meat using the teriyaki sauce pictured at the left. It works great for chicken and/or beef and it gives the kabobs a sweet, Asian flavor that will make your kabobs stand out from the rest. I’m sure other sauces would do the trick but you really should try your kabobs with some type of teriyaki sauce at least once to see what you’ve been missing. Your meat should also be in a separate bowl from your veggies. (I only use the teriyaki sauce on the meat).

 

 

Now it’s time to build your kabobs and get them on the grill.  It’s obviously not rocket science – so do your worst.  My only recommendation would be to leave some spacing between things on your kabobs so that everything will cook evenly.  When things are packed too closely it’s harder for them to cook.  Once I’ve built my kabobs I typically season them with Weber’s Beer Can Chicken seasoning. Obviously you can experiment here too but it works well for me.  Once your kabobs are on the grill let them cook for about 15-20 minutes over direct heat.  Just be careful not to burn the veggies.  You’ll want to make sure to rotate them a couple of times to ensure everything cooks evenly.

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: cooking, grilling

CONNECT

Find me online.

2 Comments on “Grilled Teriyaki Kabobs”

  1. September 24, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    These look lovely and look quick and easy to make……just what I need on busy nights when I have lots going on! I think I’ll try them on my George Foreman grill – bit to cold to cook outside for me now!

    • September 25, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

      let me know how thet turn out. they are pretty easy and fun to experiment with.

Leave a Reply

