Homemade Salsa

One of my favorite things is a fresh, homemade salsa.  A lot of recipes I found seemed cumbersome or not ideal.  So being the man that I am, I ultimately disregarded the recipes I had found online and took at a shot at making one myself.  Through a process of trial and (much) error, I came finally came up with a version that I think works really well.   Here’s what you’ll need in order to make mine but I would always encourage you to experiment with different versions and find something that is unique to you:

Ingredients:

2 medium sized tomatoes
2 jalapeno peppers (seeds and all)
1 red bell pepper (seeds and all)
1 12oz jar of La Victoria taco sauce
1 tsp. olive oil
Fresh cilantro, fresh onion
Salt, chipotle powder
Miscellaneous hot peppers (optional)

 

 

 

 

 

Preparation:

Put the tomatoes, peppers, olive oil, and taco sauce in the food processor.  Don’t turn it on yet, just load it up.  Regarding the cilantro… There’s no specific part of the cilantro that you cannot use.  Some people will use the stems while others will discard it.  I do a combination of both.  I typically taste the stems and the leaves to get an idea for the flavors before I use it.  There is also no specific amount of cilantro you should or shouldn’t use.  In my pictures you can get a reference point for how much I use but you should start with a smaller amount and work your way up.  Add onion.  I’m not a fan of onions in my salsa, so I typically don’t add any.  However, I know that onions are a key ingredient in many salsas.  Experiment with what you like.  Once you have everything in the food processor, process everything for about 10-20 seconds.  I like my salsa somewhat chunky so I don’t process it for very long or it may get too runny.  Each food processor will be different too.  Process it until you are happy with the consistency.  Remove from food processor and transfer to a serving bowl.  Season to taste with salt and chipotle powder.  I typically end up using about 1 teaspoon of chipotle power.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: appetizers, cooking

CONNECT

Find me online.

2 Comments on “Homemade Salsa”

  1. September 27, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Thanks for following my blog. Your salsa sounds good. I didn’t think of red bell pepper or a hot sauce addition. I’ll try them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pork Tacos | Eat Drink & Be Manly - October 12, 2012

    […] salsa.  Cook it on low for about 12-14 hours.  Here you can see how I make my homemade salsa: http://eatdrinkandbemanly.com/2012/09/19/homemade-salsa/ and below is a picture of what it usually looks […]

Leave a Reply

