Beer Reviews

My tastes for certain beers change based on the seaons. The idea of brewing beers to match the seasons dates back for centuries. Traditionally, brewers made refreshing lighter beers in the summer and heartier beers for sustenance in the winter. They also used the ingredients at hand to enhance their brews from fruits to herbs and spices. I live in Northern Illinois so I get to experience every change in season – which is awesome.

Right now, I am currently enjoying Samuel Adams Octoberfest.  It’s not a perfect beer but there are many qualities that make a great a choice for fall and winter.  When first pouring, you’ll notice how dark the beer pours.  Alot of beers in a dark glass can actually be quite light – so I really like the colors of this beer.  It looks like fall. Dark, rich, amber.

Before your first sip you’ll notice that there is not a heavy aroma or much to smell. For me, that’s unfortunate.  There are faint hints of spice and grains but it’s subtle.  For a fall beer, I would prefer it to have a stronger aroma.

The taste is great.  So anything lacking elsewhere in the beer is made up here. Malt tastes are prominent initially along with a distinct bitter taste that is quickly replaced almost immediately by a pleasant sweetess that’s also refreshing.  There are also nutty flavors that are in the background but they contribute much to the overall taste of the beer.  If you enjoy malty seasonal beers then Samuel Adams Octoberfest is a solid choice.

Tags: ,

Categories: drinks

CONNECT

Find me online.

5 Comments on “Beer Reviews”

  1. September 20, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    I always look forward to Sam Adam’s Oktoberfest. I recently tried Revolution Brewing’s Oktoberfest and really like it as well.

    • September 25, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll have to give that a try. where did you pick that up, if I could ask? I’m not sure if I’ve ever seen that around here.

      • September 26, 2012 at 9:44 am #

        It is a Chicago brewery. I happen to live in Chicago and it is available pretty widely out here. It is delicious. I hope you find some!

  2. September 20, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Thank you for following my blog.

Leave a Reply

